Bon and Ruby

Member Since: October 2021

Message

About

  • Looking for a farm in:
  • New Brunswick
  • Nova Scotia
  • Ontario
  • Number of years farming:
  • 6-10 years
  • Farming experience
  • I have practical farming experience (including work as a farm intern or employee)
  • I have studied agriculture at a post-secondary institution
  • Other experience
  • Agricultural products:
  • Fruit/berries/grapes
  • Herbs
  • Seeds, seedlings or nursery stock
  • Vegetables
  • Other products
  • Planned marketing strategies:
  • Farmers markets or farm stand
  • Community Supported Agriculture (CSA)
  • Restaurant sales
  • Other marketing strategies
  • Land needed:
  • 1 acre or less
  • 2-5 acres
  • 5-10 acres
  • 10-25 acres
  • 25-50 acres
  • 50 acres or more
  • Facilities and equipment:
  • Greenhouse
  • Cold storage
  • Planned farming practices:
  • Ecological production, but not certified
  • Other practices

Overview

We are a family (Bon, Ruby, and our 10 year old son), who are seeking land to farm and live on long term using organic and permaculture principles. We currently live in Peterborough, Ontario, and are growing as much food as we can on our little lot. We are especially looking at opportunities in Nova Scotia, or New Brunswick, and are open to Ontario. We are a single income family with the aim of becoming as self-sufficient as possible. We think it is important that farm land remain farm land and not be developed.

Experience

We have mixed experience and make a strong team: Bon (37 years old): - completed a CRAFT (Collaborative Regional Alliance for Farmer Training) on 2 certified organic farms (Plan B Organic Farms, and Ignatius Farm) - Permaculture Design Certificate, and strong passion for permaculture design - 5 years work experience in urban agriculture as coordinator of educational teaching gardens in the GTA. Grew annual vegetable crops for food banks while teaching students and community members about how to grow food organically. Oversaw all aspects of crop planning, harvests, and food distribution. - experience selling farm produce at farmers' markets in GTA - Landscape Technician Diploma from Humber College - Municipal gardener for 5 years - Bon is currently homeschooling our 10 year old, growing our garden, and could be open to on-farm employment in the meantime before we find our final land to live and farm on. Ruby (49 years old): I am a Social Worker and psychotherapist with a thriving video therapy practice. This allows me to earn income anywhere there is decent internet. I am able to work three days per week, which still leaves me lots of time to participate and contribute to farming activities. I am strong as an ox. My offerings include: - Skills involved in successfully running a small business. -Sales experience. -Effective community networker and organizer. Our 10 year old: - knowledgeable nature lover who has been learning outdoor wilderness and self-sufficiency skills through outdoor schools and homeschool. - hard worker, keen learner, and very helpful with hands-on projects

Partner(s)

It will mostly be just us. We are open to collaborations and finding creative ways to share both labour and fruits of the labour.

Farm Vision

We don't want to use much machinery, and we want to keep things to a manageable scale. Self-sufficiency, plus some income would be the ultimate goal to work towards. Vegetable growing is our forte. We are working to gain skills in preserving food and would love mentorship in canning, jarring, preserving, pickling, etc. Other elements we're interested in and have skills to implement: - food forest including perennial fruit and nut trees, bushes, vines, herbs, roots - composting (vermicomposting, hot composting, composting to heat a greenhouse) - greenhouse for seedling production and propagation - vegetable and herb growing - seed saving - hens for eggs and manure production We envision a farm property where we can put to practice our growing and teaching experiences to share knowledge about permaculture, organic food growing, and soil health. We want to share quality organic food with people who need it. We envision alternative currencies for food access including trade, work share, compost exchange, etc. Sharing and knowledge transfer is key. Farm sales would be a bonus.

Relationship with Farm Owner

We are looking to the future and want to build a farm slowly, or contribute to an existing one, over the next 8-10 years, at which point we will permanently move onto the property. Between now and then, we hope to spend summer months on the farm at minimum. Hopefully more. While we would like to move to the property sooner, we are anchored by a shared parenting arrangement. So, in the mean time, we hope to use each growing season for observation of the land, energy flows, and patterns on the growing sites. We are also continuing to study and learn about farming through a variety of means. We want to steward a piece of land; care for it, love it, share its bounty with others, honour its history, and protect it. We want to to get to know and love and live in synergy with a piece of land over time. The exact kind of arrangement we would have with a farm owner will largely depend on the location, the farm, and the people we may work with. A gradual transfer would work nicely for our plan. We would also be interested in a part of the land to access over the next 8-10 years so that we can visit, cultivate, build a small shelter. We are also open to purchasing a farm outright. We are a queer couple and values of anti-oppression, community, communication, and food growing as an equity issue are important to us. If our profile sparks your interest, please reach out!