Tanya

Member Since: April 2021

Message

About

  • Looking for a farm in:
  • British Columbia
  • Number of years farming:
  • Not yet started
  • Farming experience
  • Other experience
  • Agricultural products:
  • Vegetables
  • Fruit/berries/grapes
  • Livestock
  • Planned marketing strategies:
  • Wholesale
  • Farmers markets or farm stand
  • Community Supported Agriculture (CSA)
  • Other marketing strategies
  • Land needed:
  • 1 acre or less
  • 2-5 acres
  • 5-10 acres
  • 10-25 acres
  • Facilities and equipment:
  • Irrigation capacity
  • Irrigation equipment
  • Greenhouse
  • Fencing
  • Agricultural machinery
  • Cold storage
  • Processing facilities
  • Planned farming practices:
  • Ecological production, but not certified
  • Biodynamic
  • Certified organic

Overview

Hi! I am looking for a farming opportunity in eastern BC. Currently on the verge of having a tiny house built so that I don't need to worry about housing, only land! All of my grandparents were farmers and I spent many a fine summer on the farms in BC and Oregon. I am looking to return to my roots and have a positive impact on the earth and food production. I am leaving my career as an environmental specialist to start a farmstead with my daughters, age 17 and 19. The older one is off to UVic in September 2021 and will be around during the summers. The younger one will be staying with me for the next few years at least. If we cannot find a farm this summer, our plans are to wwoof to gain experience and make contacts. My interest is in regenerative farming and permaculture practices. A few years ago I took out my front yard and planted a food forest. I also kept honey bees for 3 years as part of my job. I would love to find a place where the landowners are involved with being part of production or sales in some fashion, but it's not essential. I have a rough business plan and capital to start. Let's see what we can build together!

Experience

I am very resourceful and have a "there's nothing I can't do" attitude. I ran a hat making business from my house for 5 years. Sold products at the Farmer's Market. Kept honey bees for 3 years. Experience in invasive weed management and habitat restoration Small scale permaculture and gardening Currently run a small artisan bakery from my home. Pyrotechnician, 5 years experience (hard physical labour, long days and nights) Preserving food - canning, pressure canning, dehydrating Seed saving

Partner(s)

I will be farming with my adult daughters - one full time, one during the summers. For quite some time, we have wanted to escape city life and produce our own food. Life circumstances are now at the point where we need to make it happen. One of my daughters is transgender, so safety is important.

Farm Vision

Farm vision: Starting out with laying hens for egg production (and manure/compost). Depending on the state of land, either prepping the soil or planting gardens (no till). Making and selling bread and possibly pizza as a side hustle while getting started. After getting started, planting gardens for CSA or farmer's market sales. Increasing farm capacity to have honey bees. Increasing farm capacity to have goats - for milk and cheese production. Sales and revenue will be determined by the needs of the area.

Relationship with Farm Owner

I am open to several scenarios: 1. Working cooperatively with a farm owner to enhance their operation with possible mentorship. Working together on larger tasks, sharing tools and responsibilities while allowing privacy and personal production. 2. Farm owner is completely hands off. I am really flexible and open to different scenarios. I would like to be able to bring my tiny home and live on the land. Tiny home will have a composting toilet and its own power generation.